I have been a little unhappy with the load carrying position of my bar mounted Berthoud bag. The bag itself is great and I like the supplied mounting hardware, but mounting it on the bars puts the bag pretty high up and a little far forward. I wanted it to be a little lower down and I also wanted to get back a little room on the handlebars for computers and other accessories. Here is what I came up with.

I mounted a second stem on the steerer tub. It is steep (35 degrees) and short (75mm), and is mounted downward. This brings the relative mounting position down about 3 inches and inward a little more than an inch. For comparison, my main stem is a 110 mm Ritchey with 15 degrees of rise. You would need 40mm of spacing in the washer stack to install this stem on the steerer, otherwise you will need a fork with a longer steerer tube. Mounted in the stem is a short length of tubing or cut down handlebar on which to install the bag mounting hardware. By itself it looks a little goofy, especially with wide angle distortion in the photo. Once the assembly is complete however it looks very clean and simple.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Presto, the finished project looks great! It is as rigid as the original bar mount but it relocates the bag to a better position. I get space back on my bar tops and more stability in my load carrying ability. You can see in the last photo that there is still room below the bag for my headlight to mount. I mount my headlight on the front brake bolt. The light is not pictured but the mounting bracket is visible. The initial test rides proved the idea to be a great solution and it meets my needs very well. It will get a real world test soon in an upcoming 400 km brevet. I’ll follow up in that ride report.

