Forecast, 90% chance of rain, temps 40 to 44 degrees, let’s go for a ride!

Apparently about 60 or so other people thought it was a good idea as well. The ride started in Forest Grove Oregon, about 20 miles outside of Portland. The actual temp at the start was 38 degrees on my thermometer but who’s quibbling over a few degrees. It was generally a good group to ride with, there were a few newbies but also many PBP anciens. The pace was brisk but not over the top and I was able to stay with the “B group” for much of the early part of the ride. For this short distance there were few controls, 2 were manned and 2 were informational. I had ridden much of this route on previous rides and that time it was wet also. I wonder what it would be like to ride these roads on a warm sunny day?

It pretty much rained all day, finally letting up in the last half an hour or so. The route was pretty much through rolling farmland with no real climbs but it was a fun route to ride! I stayed warm if not dry, but warm and wet is better than cold and wet in my book. The event finished at the Verboort Sausage Festival, a well attended local food event. All day I had imagined myself at the finish eating sausage and drinking beer but when I got there it was a very long wait to get in to the food area. I decided to forego the pleasure of sausage in exchange for dry clothes and headed back to the car. All in all it was a good day in spite of the weather.

My official ride time was 5 hrs 17 min, with about 4 and 1/2 hours on the bike.

