2011 Moots Mooto XZ, Titanium 29er full suspension MTB.

Here is the new acquisition in my project line-up. I’ve got several bikes in the works ahead of it but this one may get merged in to the queue ahead of some others and fast tracked a bit. I hope to have it up and riding and be doing some business on it by mid summer 2012. It was built to order for me by Moots Cycles in Steamboat Springs Colorado with a couple of special requests that I wanted included in the construction. I ordered the frame from Cyclepath Bicycle Shop in Portland Oregon, perhaps one of the best and most knowledgeable bike shops I have ever been in! They accommodated my needs and got the frame to me in just a few weeks. It is so nice to do business with real cycling professionals!

This bike was designed as an all around performer, but it is reasonably light weight and has 4 inches of rear travel which puts this bike firmly in the “Cross Country” category in my book. I intend to build it up as an aggressive use sport bike. I don’t race anymore and I favor durability over the lightest weight components but I am also shooting for a 26 lb bike as an end result. That should prove to be a challenge since I also shun carbon fiber components. I will keep a list of the selected parts as I acquire them along with occasional progress pics of the build. Later when all is complete I will write it up in the classic bikes category.

The spec so far is as follows:

  • Thomson Elite Seat Post
  • Brooks Swift Ti Seat
  • Thomson Elite Stem
  • Easton EA70 Aluminum Handlebar
  • Tru-Vativ X-9 Crankset & BB

My last high-end MTB was a 1996 Voodoo Canzo Ti. I raced it for 5 years in the roughest conditions and it gave me over 20 podium finishes. I put about 15,000 miles on that bike over the years and riding it was like riding with an old friend. In 2010 I finally broke the frame and thought I would have to retire the bike, but I found a builder who could make the repair and the bike is once again rideable. I treat it kindly now and just take it out occasionally but it still looks and feels good to ride! It is a 24.5 lb bike with 4.5 inches of rear travel and 9 speed XTR. I hope to try to match the quality and performance of the Voodoo with the Moots.

