1974 Legnano Gran Premio, Part 4

Okay, the wheels are built and I am now ready to start the final assembly. In addition to the previously installed components mentioned in part 2, I have also put the original Campagnolo Nuovo Gran Sport derailleurs back on. They cleaned up very nicely and still function very well. The Universal brake levers were in great shape, even the gum rubber on the hoods looked good! I had a nice Regina Extra 5 speed freewheel laying around that is perfect for this bike. The 14/28 cogs along with the 37/48 TA crankset should give me the gearing that I want for riding the hills of the Chianti region of Tuscany later this year at L’Eroica.

Next I’ll put on some new cables and housings and start to dial in the shifting and brakes. Velo Orange make a nice cable set that I have used before so I’ll probably go with those again. I replaced the original brake pads with some black Campy blocks. They were just a little long but I milled them down to the correct length and they look good. Hopefully they can do a little stopping as well! Here is the component spec of this bike so far.

  • Campagnolo Tipo high flange hubs
  • 36 hole clincher rim, could be Mavic or Araya (no label)
  • Campagnolo Nuovo Gran Sport derailleurs
  • Regina Extra 5 speed freewheel, 14/28
  • Ofmega headset
  • 3TTT bars and stem
  • Universal Model 68 brakes and levers
  • Ofmega bottom bracket (not original)
  • TA Specialties Crankset, 48/37 (not original)
  • Gipiemme pedals (not original)
  • Gipiemme Seat post (not original)
  • Ideal leather saddle (not original)

The last step will be to install tires and yes, fenders! I decided on Continental Gatorskins in 28c size. There is plenty of clearance for fenders and a larger tire on this bike and I could go a little larger If I wanted. The fender set is from Woodys fenders in Oregon and they are modern works of art themselves. They will add much character to this classic bike! The bike has eyelets and it seems that old school bikes like this were built to be outfitted for real world riding conditions. Most bikes built these days are for fair weather and fair roads only and often cannot fit more than a 23c tire. To be worthy of the traditions of cycling that this bike represents it has to be able to handle the conditions experienced by cyclists of previous eras!

previous posts on this build:

1974 Legnano Gran Premio, Part 1

1974 Legnano Gran Premio, Part 2

1974 Legnano Gran Premio, Part 3 

