Not all rides need to be “epic” rides. Sometimes a nice day on the bike and some good food is all you need. The Portland Century ride offers just that. I have done this ride a couple of times now and one of the things that I like about is that a different course is used each year. They always route you through new parts of the region so that each year is a new experience. This year we rode out to the west and into the farmlands and wineries beyond Hillsboro. As an added bonus, the support on this event is top notch. They start you with a light breakfast and finish with a great buffet, including a bottomless glass of beer. What more could you ask for!

A casual 8 am start today.

A casual 8 am start today.

Even with 3000 riders the event was well managed and I never had to wait for services. I won’t drone on about the details of the ride, I’ll just offer a few pics for you to enjoy.

It was a pretty fruity ride.

It was a pretty fruity ride.

I love these rural roads.

I love these rural roads.

A pop up bike shop

A pop up bike shop

Rest stop at Ungers farm store.

Rest stop at Ungers farm store.

The old "Scotch Church".

The old “Scotch Church”.

pc-0813i

Lovely berry farm (I think)!

Rolling thru Washington Park.

Rolling thru Washington Park.

The rewards for success!

The rewards for success!

