Here is a quick recap of my day, driving up to the event venue at Bakewell, U.K. the start venue for L’Eroica Britannia. A 2 1/2 hour drive to turned into a 6 hour ordeal when the M1 motorway was closed due to an accident. No marked detour, gridlocked traffic, local road construction, all on the wrong side of the road! A little good luck and GPS navigation saw me through and somehow I arrived in Bakewell about 4pm local time. When I arrived I took care of the following priorities, park the car, check in to the hotel, relieve thirst!

My Citroen POS rental car.

My Citroen POS rental car.

After unpacking I had a bit of a stroll around town. Bakewell is excessively attractive and very clean. It kind of reminds me of a 500 year old Solvang California, a town contrived for tourists. Only here the castles and stonework are real!

Tomorrow I will put together the bike, take a little test ride, see a bit of the town and get checked in for the event. It should be a better day than today.

 

My reward for a tough day.

My reward for a tough day.

