Today my plan is to take a short morning ride and get back to my hotel early to get things organized. I started with the good intention of stretching my legs and honing my navigation skills on the local roads. I have to use the excuse of being distracted by the wonderful views of the Derbyshire (read that as Darbi-sheer) countryside so if I may have missed a turn or two it should be totally understandable. Oddly, I ended up on some of the same roads I was on yesterday only going in the opposite direction. So, I wasn’t really lost if I knew where I was, even if I didn’t know how I got there, right?

image

After my ride I stopped back by the event venue for a quick adjustment on the bike. What a difference a day makes! The venue was jammed, people everywhere. The vendors were very busy (happily) and it was hard to get throught the grounds. After my quick repair Iheaded back to my hotel for a change of clothes.

image

After a quick change I went out for a bit of shopping and a bite to eat. I had a recommendation for the best fish & chips in Bakewell so that was a must stop. I also found a specialty whiskey (scotch) shop where I quickly became aware of my lack of knowledge on the subject. After a sample or two the proprietor steered me towards some good selections.

image

Back at the event venue I thought I would take another stroll around to see if there was anything I had missed. Tomorrow will be a full day of riding and there will be no more time to see the event. I stopped in at the Hendricks Gin location for a quick refreshment. Oddly, I ran into a couple that I had met previously at the Tanqueray location, Steve and Louise who were a local couple who gave me the fish and chips recommend. We chatted about our day and they mentioned how impressed they were with the production of this event. They were pleased when I told them that it should be an annual thing. They had believed that it was a one time deal.

image

I can now say with some authority that there are some secrets to making a good gin & tonic, to which I am now a party. After some diligent testing I have determined that the Hendricks G & T is superior to all others. There is no argument about it!

Tonight I will need to get to bed early, my start window for the ride is from 6:00 am to 7:30 am which means rising about 5:00 am. I am being led to believe that this will be quite a tough ride with many people finishing over twelve hours. I was hoping for 10 hours myself!

