This ride is a repeat from last year which is something that I don’t do very often, or for many events. I would like to get a few more double centuries in this year and this will be one of the few that I can attend early in the season so, I AM BACK! It is not a bad route and it is on roads that I am pretty familiar with. That helps with knowing what to expect but it keeps the ranking a little lower on the interest meter.

IMG_1064

 

About 190 riders turned out for the ride which is pretty typical for this event. The weather was expected to be cool but fair with high clouds all day and temps in the 60’s and light winds. There was a chance of rain late in the day so I needed to carry a little extra clothing, just in case.

I stayed in the mid pack for a while.

I stayed in the mid pack for a while.

For this event I chose to ride my Rawland Nordavinden. I love the way this bike rides and it has the added bonus of some carrying capacity with its front bag. It is supposed to be my gravel grinder bike but it is very versatile and I have done this distance on it before.

Surfing the shoulder of I-5 thru Camp Pendleton

Surfing the shoulder of I-5 thru Camp Pendleton

The ride went well enough and I felt pretty good during the day. I was trying to better my time from last year which was about 15 and a half hours overall. I was fairly disappointed when I finished in 16 hours and 15 minutes, even though I felt that I was doing better than that. There were about 20 riders who finished behind me and 12 or so DNF’s but I was pretty near the lantern rouge. I guess I will attribute it to simply having an off day. Hey, it happens right? Still…..

A supplemental nutrition stop.

A supplemental nutrition stop.

 

 

