Today was a good day. I brought my old motorbike over to the concours of bicycles and hung out for a while. I hooked up with Bob, my riding buddy from Utah and we chatted with lots of people over the next hour or two. Andreas who works for Brooks, Nicola who is with the L’Eroica group from Italy and Tim from L’Eroica Britannia. All very interesting people who were wonderful to talk to about their passion for the sport.

image

Unexpectedly, I ran into several randonnuering friends, including Greg and Stacy Kline from PCH Randos and several others whose name I knew but had not met before. You meet the nicest people at a bike event. There were bikes here from the late 1800’s along with many rare and classic models. Some were riders but others were simply works of art.

image

Luciano, who is best known as the face of L’Eroica came by, and even though he doesn’t speak english we had an interesting exchange about my motorbike. He wanted to know how big the engine was and what year the bike was. Somehow I think I communicated that is was a 600 cc bike from 1962. Either that or he thought he got a phone number. He smiled and shook my hand regardless. Luciano is a real rider and his resume includes 20 time Italian national cyclo-cross champion, as well as curator for the Museo della Bicicletta in Cosseria, Liguria in Italy. On a side note, Luciano’s hands are like leather covered vise grips when you shake them! This is a man who works with his hands!

image

I put the motorbike away in the late afternoon and we had an early dinner at a restaurant just off the park. The ride starts at 5:30 am tomorrow and that will be an early morning call.

