I acquired this bike as an impulse purchase, mainly because it looked like a good deal. The price was $120 including shipping, as pictured below. Now, I didn’t really need this frame but I do like some of the 80’s British touring bikes and I thought that maybe I could find something to do with this one. Besides, look at all of the good parts it came with!

The frame came with it’s stock brake-set, bars and stem and the bottom bracket. Even though I might not use most of the original components the condition was pretty good with very little rust and decent paint. Even the decals were mostly intact! I would need to do very little to clean this bike up and bring it back into service.

Raleigh touring bikes of this era have some interesting characteristics. The full line was made from Reynolds 555t double butted tubing, and there were few differences between the top of the line and the lower tier frames such as this one. The main differences being that the top tier model (the Portage) had better (Chro-Mo) fork ends, and the lower tier model (Wyoming) had side-pull brakes as opposed to cantilevers. Other than that the frames themselves were quite similar. Of course the upper tier models came with better components, but otherwise this frame was quite comparable with the top shelf models.

Another characteristic of this frame that I liked was that it originally came with 27 inch wheels. By switching to 700c wheels I could probably go to a bigger tire size, which was a thought I had in the back of my mind. Just how big I could go was the question to be answered.

I found a complete copy of the 1984 Raleigh Touring Bike Catalogue on a blog that I follow,  (the Simplicity of Vintage Cycles) which offered some good insight as to how this bike was originally equipped. It is not my intention to bring this bike back to original but it is good to know where it started.

The next step for me will be to decide what kind of bike that I want this to be. Then I will scour my parts bins to see what I have that will work for that. After that there will likely be a quest for parts, which is half the fun!