Here is a recent acquisition from Ebay, a 1986 Nishiki Prestige road bike. This one was the same model and year of bike that I once rode back in the 80’s and it was my first “real road bike.” I sold it more than 30 years ago so when I saw this one come up I thought it would be a fun trip down memory lane. It was pretty much just missing the wheels to be complete so I pulled the trigger!

In the sale photo above it looked like everything was still in descent shape, but when it arrived I was disappointed to find that due to being poorly packed it had gotten pretty beaten up in shipping. Loose parts banging around in the box did some damage to the frame and other parts. Not really the fault of the carrier but it was a shame since it didn’t have to happen.

Comparing the catalog spec page to the parts on the bike confirm that it is all original. Also it is interesting to know where this bike falls in the Nishiki line up of the day. If you eliminate the specialty bikes (triathlon and track) in the catalog it appears to be a fourth tier bike out of a line-up of road 10 models. Two of the models above this one are aluminum and carbon which makes the Prestige the second tier in a steel frame bike offered that year by the brand just below the “International.”

I did my best to get it cleaned up and treated some minor rust issues. Then I sprayed it with a satin finish clear coat to help preserve it in pretty much original looking condition. It has enough patina to give it some character but not to the point of looking shabby. I also checked the alignment of the drop-outs to make sure that the frame wasn’t tweaked in any way from prior use or shipping damage. The result is a clean and straight frame in original condition and ready to build up as I see fit.

This is now what I have to work with and I intend to bring it back into use as a recreational rider. Most of the original components will go back on with a few exceptions. The main question being, what kind of wheels to build for it? Check back in to see how this winter project progresses!