This was a new event for me to attend. I had been to the Hand-built bicycle show (NAHBS) in Oregon on several previous occasions, but that show like much of the rest of Portland events has died because of recent local events and perhaps some internal issues. I am reluctant to go into the city at all anymore with the myriad problems that Portland is experiencing but I had pre-scouted this location and thought that it didn’t look too bad so I decided to give it a shot.

The event of August 25-27 was held in what appeared to be an old industrial building on the south waterfront in the Zidell Yards. Rough concrete floors and the old warehouse gave a workshop feel to the show as a whole, which was in character for the nature of the event. Many well know brands were on display from Moots, Bike Friday and Velo Orange as well as local favorites such as Co-Motion, Chris King and Portland Design Works. Then there were the others, too many for me to list here that represented most established small builders as well as many unknowns. There was even an international presence with Columbus tubing and Officina Battaglin from Italy being represented, along with vendors from France Germany and Spain. Small specialties like wheel builder Wheel Fanatyk, painters Black Magic Paint and toolmaker Abbey Bike Tools filled in many other areas of interest to the community.

One of the main reasons that I came was to meet Alex Battaglin, from whom I purchased a Battaglin Marosticana frame about 3 years ago (link here). We had spoken to each other several times on the phone during the purchase process so I was quite pleased to actually meet him in person. The Battaglin family tradition of building the highest quality steel frames gives them something that many of the other builders at this show lack, generations of experience! Their presence at this show added some dignity and professionalism to offset the riot of bold and sometimes crazy ideas being presented by other vendors.

Ric Hjertberg of Wheel Fanatyk was here at the show standing next to a beautiful wheel featuring a Curtis Odom hub laced to a Cerchio Ghisallo wooden clincher rim. Some 15 years ago Ric built a similar set for me, only with Campagnolo high flange hubs and tubular Ghisallo rims. They were set for a project that was never completed due to a change of plans. They are still waiting for the right project to come along!

It is always amazing to chat with these talented and creative luminaries in the world of cycling. They seem willing to give quite freely of their time and share with you what they know. Guys like this have forgotten more about their trade than most of us will ever know!

I stopped by the Co-Motion booth to let them know how much I have enjoyed my Co-Motion Nor’wester Randonneur which I purchased in 2006. That bike doesn’t get ridden as much anymore but I have logged over 10,000 miles on it! I also have a second Nor’wester, one that belonged to a good friend who passed many years ago. I was given the bike as a memento of our friendship by his wife in 2008. It hangs in a place of honor in my workshop. Their work looks as amazing as ever based on what they brought to display, both tandems and single bikes.

The amazing painter Joe Bell was here at the show, though not as an exhibitor but as an interested insider. I ran into him and thanked him for painting a frame for me many years ago. He actually remembered it, a rare 1984 Lino Messori which is probably only one of 150 ever built by this master frame-builder. Thought it was a simple solid green with clear coat he paid special attention to the details such as the lug lining, saving the chrome and the sharp borders of the unique raised chrome logos. This understated piece shows his remarkable skill not just as a painter but as a curator of cycling history.

I had mixed feeling about this vendor, Abbey Bicycle tools. The made nice looking tools but the prices were outlandish! I thought that it was kind of a sacrilegious to put them in a classic Campagnolo tool box!

More that 160 exhibitors were present at this show with some well known marques as I mentioned above, but most were small builders who were still trying to make a name for themselves. There were lots of interesting ideas on display among the work being shown here. Some of it creative, some of it functional, some was beautiful and some of it none of the above!

After talking with a number of the vendors there was one sad comment that I heard a few times, most often by those not from the west coast. That was how surprised they were to see the “state” of things in Portland. They were almost embarrassed to say it but they were somewhat shocked by the homelessness, the trash and graffiti, and the way the inner city appeared to be on the verge of abandoned! I agreed and said that this is where our leadership has taken us. It is not a healthy look and is a sign of a city that has a long road to recovery. I was sad that some have left here with that perception.

Repainted frame at the Black Magic Paint booth, a local Portland business.
Morizumi Spoke Cutting and Threading machine at the Wheel Fanatyk booth.

Wolfhound cycles looked interesting, but seemed convoluted in my opinion.

Astral Cycles from central Oregon with their parts and wheel display bike.

Brule’ Bicycle proved that just because you can, maybe you still shouldn’t.

This event seemed to be well attended by both builders and prospective buyers with thousands attending over the course of the show. I hope that it returns again in the years to come!