The perfect brevet bike? Well based on my personal preferences this one is it. First you start with a steel frame measured and made for me by Co-Motion Cycles of Oregon. I had S & S couplers added so this bike breaks down to the size of checked luggage in its hardcase. Co-Motion double butts the tubes to the couplers for great strength and light weight. This bike is designed for long hours in the saddle and versatility. It is also as swift as the wind, hence the name.

como2[1]
Power for lighting is provide by the peerless Schmidt dynamo front hub. This hub has operated flawlessly through “Epic” conditions on many occaisions.  2 Schmidt E6 headlamps with halogen bulbs provide the lighting and have guided me over many miles on dark nights. Other technical gear include a pretty basic Specialized computer backed up by a Garmin Edge 305 GPS unit. With a supplemental battery pack this unit will run for over 30 hours. Interchangeable batteries in this pack allow for virtually unlimited usage.

como3[1]

Randonneurs must carry lots of stuff and for this task I have chosen Berthoud bags. They are simple in design yet very versatile and durable. I used to use a trunk bag but have now switched to a handlebar bag with a larger seat bag. This allows more convenient access to my stuff. Planet bike fenders keep me and my stuff dry. These were well tested at PBP in 2007 and if that is not a great testimonial then I do not know what is!

como41[1]
There are many opinions of what constitutes the perfect randonnee’ bike. My own opinion tends to be more on the traditional side. For long distance riding, comfort and reliability become even more important qualities to consider than light weight or use of modern materials. Things found desirable on a race bike may become great handicaps on a brevet bike. I keep in mind this one simple rule; there is almost no useful place for carbon fiber on a brevet bike!