It begins to take shape!

Here are couple of pics of how things are going so far on this vintage gravel bike winter project:

I had to experiment with the spacing on these Campy hubs a little bit. The dropout spacing on the rear of the frame is currently at 120 mm, which is typically good for a 5 speed freewheel. I didn’t want to change that by cold setting the frames rear spacing but I wanted to find a way to squeeze in 6 speed freewheel. I found a Suntour unit that had a shorter stack height than other 6 speed models I have, and the threading on the freewheel hub was also recessed by a couple of mm. This gave me a 6 mm narrower freewheel assembly. Then I spaced the rear hub to 124 mm and was able to use the 6 speed freewheel and still have chain clearance to the frame. Spreading the frame by 4 mm each time to insert the rear wheel is pretty easy. 4 mm is about the width of an axle locknut.

The TA crankset, Ene Ciclo shifters, Campy 980 derailleurs and the Suntour freewheel all seem to be playing well together. Once I got the shifters doing their job I was able to get the chain cut to the correct length and then adjust the derailleur travel. Getting the shifting dialed in is perhaps the most important first step. If it doesn’t shift well then nothing else really matters! The chain line is pretty good even if it runs a little close to the stay in this particular gear (above). It is an 8 speed chain which is a little narrower so that helps but at least there is no contact. I feel like I am pushing the limits of what I can do with this frame and still keep it functional.

The Universal brakes have the correct reach for these wheels, so they are a go. Coupled with Campy levers I think that I am keeping it pretty Italian so far! These brakes though do not release wide enough for easy tire removal (with these 32c tires) , even though they are mounted on this wider rim. That’s a minor complaint that I have dealt with on other bikes so no big deal. I just won’t plan on getting any flats and I should be fine!

The bars and stem all seem to fit well but will need to be road tested and have the position set. The used Brooks saddle I found is pretty supple so I’ll just treat it again with mink oil and it should be ready to ride. The seat post is kind of a snug fit in the seat tube but I did get get it inserted to the correct height. I may have to go back and clean up the inside of the seat tube with a hone. There may be a flaw inside that is inhibiting free movement of the post.  The Wellgo pedals are a known quantity to me and I like them because they allow use as either with an SPD cleat or as a flat pedal. I have used them on some of my randonneuring bikes for this specific feature.


Parts is parts

Here is the list of components that I am using at this point:

  • Campagnolo Victory hubs
  • Weinmann AS23X rims
  • Sapim 14 gauge spokes
  • Campagnolo 980 front and rear derailleurs
  • Ene Ciclo stem mount friction shifters
  • TA crankset with Velo Orange chain rings 48/30
  • Suntour 6 speed freewheel, 14/30
  • KMC 8 speed chain 
  • Universal Super 68 brake set
  • Campagnolo Athena aero brake levers
  • Sakae-Modolo anatomic bars
  • Dajia 26.4 seat post
  • Brooks B-17 saddle
  • Wellgo SPD-flat combo pedals
  • Ritchey Max 32c cross tires

Road trials

After a few initial test rides to get the riding position dialed in I am ready to take it out for some longer test rides. Until now it has just been short spins in the neighborhood, but next I’ll be headed out into the real world. I need to find some gravel paths to stretch it’s legs on before I give it a thumbs up. More adjustments may still need to be made. Then, after all of the tinkering and tweaking is done I will tear it all down again and get ready for paint!

Previous post on this project is here.