Timing is everything and the proof is in this acquisition of a lovely Raleigh frame and fork. It was offered by an acquaintance of mine but only for pick up in southern California, and it just so happened that I would be in that area in a couple of days. I contacted him and it was all set! Even though he had several interested parties he said that he would hold it for me, and at a ridiculously low price!

This individual has been a luminary in the San Diego cycling scene for decades and I had the priviledge of meeting him for the first time several years ago. We have been friends on social media from that point on. This may have been a pay-it-forward thing to him but he also wanted to make sure that it went to a good home. I’ll keep his name to myself for the time being and thank him for trusting me to see this through to a proper result. Maybe if I do this bike justice he will follow up with a comment.

Based on the frame number, this bike was manufactured in the Carlton England factory in May of 1980. It is almost indistinguishable from the 1979 model with the exception of a slightly different build spec. On a frame and fork only acquisition though, there is no apparent difference between the years. The catalog lists it as a third tier bike, just behind the Professional and the Superbe models but with its Campagnolo dropouts and Reynolds 531 tubes it is not a big step down. It likely listed for about $600 back in the day.

I’ll have to think about just how I will build this frame back up, but in all likelihood it will be pretty close to the original spec with Campagnolo gear mechanisms and Weinmann brakes. If I go outside the box a little it would be with some light fenders to make this a sporty all season rider, but pretty minimalist overall.

These pics were taken in the condition that the bike was received in, which I consider excellent for a 40+ year old bike. Minimal rust with decals mostly intact, only light abrasions in the paint and a frame that looks straight and true! It will only take a good detailing to have this in shape and ready for assembly, that is once all the parts are acquired.

Check back later for updates on the progress of this new arrival!