Just finished my Mooto XZ 29’er XC bike. I bought it, frame only, late last year and I’ve been working on it for a few months now. I have aquired the parts from different sources along the way and now it is complete and ready to ride. I have only taken it on some driveway laps so far to get it set up, but this weekend should be the real shakedown ride!

Built out, it weighs in at 27 lbs. It has 5 inches of rear travel and 4 in the front. I’m pretty pleased with the weigh-in, it is hard to get in the sub-25 lb range with disk brakes and 29’er wheels. I could probably get the weight down a little more if I went tubeless.  The bike it is replacing is a 1996 Voodoo Canzo Ti 26’er. It had 4 1/2 inch travel in the rear and 3 inches up front, was XTR 9 speed and weighed in at 24.5 lbs, so the specs are similar. I have about 15,000 miles on the Canzo, much of it racing miles and it has been a great bike! If this Moots rides as well and is as stout I should be riding it for many years to come!

The Spec:

  • Shimano XT 2×10 group
  • Chris King Hubs
  • Stan’s Arch Rims
  • WTB ExiWolf 2.3 tires
  • Fox Float F&R suspension
  • TruVativ Crankset
  • Thomson Seat Post & Stem
  • Easton Bars
  • Brooks Swift Ti Saddle

Previous post on the Moots.