Bicicletta classica per tutte le strade

I’m trying to find the right category to classify this bike as and I haven’t quite got it yet. Retro Italian gravel bike, vintage all roads rider, old school adventure bike, Strada Bianca speciale? All of these come close but in the end it is probably just a Franken-bike.

This one has been kicking around the work shop for awhile now as I dithered on how I would finish it out. I had intended to try and keep this machine all Italian but in the end I had to settle for it being mostly Italian. To get both the form and function that I wanted required some compromise along with some creativity.

The current “gravel bike” craze might be viewed as kind of a throwback to an earlier day when classic bicycles were used on all types of roads. In post-war Europe, the poor quality of roads that existed meant that bicycle races would often traverse roads that were less than ideal. This was not really a “thing,” it was just what they had to work with and the race must go on! I’m not sure if the current “gravel bike” trend is really much more than a marketing strategy but I am glad to see it. I view it as less of a return to the past and more of an acknowledgement that in general bicycles can be much more versatile!

Since the last project review I have made a couple of changes to the original idea, and also decided to keep the paint “as is” for the time being. The replacement fork I had originally chosen (a Tange unit) had crown lugs that went well with those on the frame but the tire clearance was tighter than I wanted. I could fit 32c tires on it and no larger, and even those were a snug fit! Instead I found a generic aftermarket fork with much better tire clearance, and it is a closer match to what the original fork would have been in style, but without high quality drop-outs. It’s also chrome plated and so is less mismatched looking than the Tange fork was. This lessens the need to do a full repaint though I may still consider doing it later. Now with adequate tire clearance front and rear I am able to use a set of 35c tires. They are nothing fancy, just a Performance house brand Forte, the model is Gotham.

The head badge and seat tube badge were both missing when I acquired this frame. I have been searching for both since then with no luck but will keep on the hunt for them. Perhaps when those are in hand I will go ahead and get the paint work done.

The component compromises that I have made on this bike reflect the need both function and economy. For wide range gearing options few can surpass a classic TA crank-set! To get the more upright riding position that I prefer in a gravel bike I had to use an after-market stem. A classic Italian racing stem simply wouldn’t give me the rise that I wanted. With the more upright position, shifting from the down-tube would be awkward, so a stem shifter mount made sense. Trying to get good quality in these components narrowed the selection quite a bit. The choice of a light and sturdy seat-post in the correct size was guided by economics. Velo Orange and Soma Fabrications supplied the items I needed to meet these goals and are among the few current suppliers that straddle the line between form and function

Highlights on this bike include:

  • Italian Hubs, derailleurs, and brakes
  • Higher handlebar position with stem mounted shifters
  • Extended derailleur cage for wide range gearing
  • Faux chrome panel on seat-tube to match fork
  • Waxed canvas bags, front and rear

Component specifics include:

  • TA crank-set
  • Velo Orange seat post and chain-rings
  • Modolo handlebar with no name stem
  • Weinmann AS23x rims
  • Soma rear derailleur cage and stem shifter mount
  • Cardiff saddle
  • Wellgo SPD pedals
  • Acorn bags

Progetto eccentrico della bicicletta

The best definition of a “franken-bike” that I have heard is “a bike assembled from parts never expected or intended to go together.” On the other hand, “if purpose built, even with an unconventional component selection, if done well is just an eccentric or purpose driven build.” It’s only when the end result looks like a bunch of stitched-together corpses that it becomes a franken-bike. This one is simply my eccentric bicycle project.

Previous post on this build.